Leadership Team

The provost is the chief academic officer for the campus and is responsible for developing and assessing academic programs and supervising academic personnel policies and academic administration. Deans and directors of academic units report to the provost.

View the Organizational Chart.

Learn about the Provost Fellows Program and current Provost Fellows.

William Bernhard

Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost
bernhard@illinois.edu
(217) 333-6677

Assistant: Theresa Beckett
tbeckett@illinois.edu
(217) 244-4115

William Bernhard is the Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost, overseeing the campus’ academic programs, policies, and priorities, which are designed to ensure the quality of the educational experience for students and to sustain an environment that encourages and supports academic excellence through diversity, inclusion, and free inquiry, debate, and speech. Read full bio.

Studio Portrait of Rosa Milagros (Amy) Santos Gilbertz

Rosa Milagros Santos

Acting Executive Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Designate
rsantos@illinois.edu
(217) 333-6677

Assistant: Amanda Plotner
aplotner@illinois.edu
(217) 333-0053

As Acting Executive Vice Provost for Academic Affairs Designate, Rosa Milagros (Amy) Santos provides leadership in the areas of academic affairs and faculty affairs. Her portfolio includes faculty development, the Provost Fellows program, human resources, academic awards, and assessment. Read full bio.

 

Vicky Gress

Acting Associate Chancellor and Vice Provost for Budget and Resource Planning
gress@illinois.edu
(217) 333-4885

Assistant: Jane Baumgartner
jmbaumga@illinois.edu
(217) 300-2702

The Associate Chancellor and Vice Provost for Budget and Resource Planning provides strategic budget planning and allocation advice to the Chancellor and the Provost, guidance to the university in areas related to budget, finance, planning and resource allocation, leadership and management of the campus budget office, and serves as campus chief financial officer. Read full bio…

Reitumetse Mabokela - vice provost for international affairs and global strategies, Office of the ProvostReitumetse Obakeng Mabokela

Vice Provost for International Affairs and Global Strategies
mabokela@illinois.edu
(217) 333-6104

Assistant: Amy Hubbard
hubbrd@illinois.edu
(217) 300-1914

As Vice Provost for International Affairs and Global Strategies and Senior International Officer, Reitumetse Obakeng Mabokela cultivates relationships with institutions around the world while bringing together the university’s vast on-campus international presence. Read full bio.

Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
[This position is currently vacant.]

Assistant: Jean Hanks
jhanks@illinois.edu
(217) 300-5398

The Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education provides campus-wide leadership in the area of undergraduate education, including setting strategic directions for the undergraduate experience at Illinois, supporting innovation in classroom and in online instruction, and encouraging interdisciplinary initiatives in curriculum and pedagogy.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Paul Redman

Associate Provost for Capital Planning
predman@illinois.edu
(217) 333-1166

Assistant: Lesa Wilcoxon
lesaw@illinois.edu
(217) 300-4644

Paul Redman is the Associate Provost for Capital Planning.  He is responsible for strategically planning, stewarding, and managing the physical resource needs of the campus, in collaboration with the academic and administrative units