Courses & Programs

Illinois has 16 colleges and instructional units that provide more than 150 undergraduate programs and more than 100 graduate and professional programs.


All new, revised, and deactivated courses must be approved by the Office of the Provost upon the recommendation of the department, the college, and, in the case of 400- through 500-level courses, the Graduate College. Visit the links below for more information.

Course Resources


Changes to existing programs or proposals for new programs are reviewed by the Office of the Provost and are subject to approval by the Academic Senate and the Board of Trustees. Learn more about guidelines for new or revised programs.

For questions about programs of study, please contact Kathy Martensen in the Office of the Provost.

Program Guidelines

Programs of Study Resources