National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Member

Members are elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Membership is a widely accepted mark of excellence in science and is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive.

Application/Nomination information: Nominations are restricted to members.
Agency deadline: Provided to nominators.
Additional information: NAS website

Illinois Recipients

^emeritus/retired faculty

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Roger AdamsºChemistry1929
Elizabeth (Lisa) AinsworthPlant Biology2020
David Aspnes*Physics1998
Robert Austin*Physics1999
Renee BaillargeonPsychology2015
David BakerºAnimal, Nutritional, & Applied Microbial Sciences2005
John BardeenºElectrical & Computer Engineering
& Physics
Gordon Baym^Physics1982
Peter Beak^Chemistry2003
Arnold Beckman*Chemistry1999
May BerenbaumEntomology1994
Kathryn Bock^Psychology2015
Marvin BryantºAnimal, Nutritional, & Applied Microbial Sciences1994
Donald BurkholderºMathematics1992
John Carbon*Biochemistry1986
David CeperleyPhysics2006
Alfred Cho*Electronic Engineering1985
Joanne Chory*Plant Biology1999
Ralph Cicerone*ºGeophysics1990
Arthur Coble^ºMathematics1924
Robert Collier*Microbial Biology1991
John CronanMicrobiology and Biochemistry2017
David CurtinºChemistry1964
Gary DellPsychology2015
Scott DenmarkChemistry2018
J DoobºMathematics1957
Sidney Drell*Physics1969
Harry DrickamerºChemical Engineering
& Physics
Floyd DunnºElectrical & Computer Engineering1990
Gert Ehrlich^ºPhysics1986
Ernest Eliel*Chemistry1972
Stephen Elledge*Medical Genetics, Hematology, and Oncology 2003
Eduardo FradkinPhysics2013
Gottfried Fraenkel^ºCellular & Developmental Biology1968
Hans Frauenfelder^ºPhysics1975
Lambert Freund*Materials Science & Engineering1977
Elaine Fuchs*Cellular and Developmental Biology1996
R.C. Fuson^ºChemistry1944
Nigel GoldenfeldPhysics2010
Steve Granick^Materials Science & Engineering2015
Laura Greene^Physics2006
William GreenoughPsychology1992
Martin GruebeleChemistry2013
Irwin GunsalusBiochemistry1965
Harry GutowskyºChemistry1960
Lowell HagerBiochemistry1995
Thomas HanrattyChemical & Biomolecular Engineering1999
Jack HarlanPlant, Soil, & Microbial Sciences1972
Karl Hess^Electrical & Computer Engineering2003
Ernest Hilgard*Psychology1948
Nick Holonyak, Jr.^*Electrical & Computer Engineering1984
Icko Iben^Astronomy1985
Jiri Jonas^Chemistry1985
Susan Kieffer^Geology1986
Miles Klein^Physics1998
Paul LauterburChemistry1985
Anthony LeggettPhysics1997
Stephen LongPlant Biology; Crop Sciences2019
Nelson Leonard^ºChemistry1955
Francis Loomis^ºPhysics1949
William McMillanPhysics1982
Douglas Melton*Cellular and Developmental Biology1995
Robert MetcalfAnimal, Nutritional, & Applied Microbial Sciences1967
Jeffrey MooreChemistry2017
Catherine MurphyChemistry2015
Nathan Newmark*ºCivil & Environmental Engineering1966
Donald OrtPlant Biology2017
Charles Osgood^ºPsychological & Cognitive Sciences1972
Albert Overhauser*ºPhysics1976
Norman Pace*Microbial Biology 1991
Gary ParkerGeology and Civil & Environmental Engineering2017
Tommy PhillipsPlant Biology1999
David Pines^ºPhysics1973
C ProsserPhysiology & Pharmacology1974
Alfred Redfield*Physics1979
Gene RobinsonInstitute for Genomic Biology2005
Worth RodebushChemistry1938
William RoseBiochemistry1936
Glenn SalisburyAnimal, Nutritional, & Applied Microbial Sciences1974
William Schowalter*Engineering Sciences1998
John Schrieffer*ºPhysics1971
Frederick SeitzºPhysics1951
Phillip Sharp*Cellular and Developmental Biology1983
Charles Slichter^ºPhysics1967
Sol Spiegelman^ºMicrobiology1965
Dale Van HarlingenPhysics2003
Gregorio WeberºBiochemistry1975
Carl WoeseºEnvironmental Sciences & Ecology1988
Ralph Wolfe^ºMicrobiology1981