American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow

A member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished and who has been a continuous member for the four year period leading up to the year of nomination, may, by virtue of such meritorious contribution be elected a Fellow by the Council. Examples of areas in which nominees may have made significant contributions are research; teaching; technology; services to professional societies; administration in academe, industry, and government; and communicating and interpreting science to the public.

Application/Nomination information: Nominations are restricted to members.
Agency deadline: May
Additional information: AAAS website

Illinois Recipients

^emeritus/retired faculty

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Alison BellEvolution, Ecology, & Behavior2020
Carl BernacchiPlant Biology2020
Rohit BhargavaBioengineering2020
Paul BraunMaterials Science & Engineering2020
Prashant JainChemistry2020
Nancy SottosMaterials Science & Engineering2020
Elizabeth AinsworthPlant Biology2019
Andrew AlleyneMechanical Science & Engineering2019
David CahillMaterials Science & Engineering2019
Paul HergenrotherChemistry2019
Sheldon JacobsonComputer Science2019
Klara NahrstedtComputer Science2019
Andrew SuarezEvolution, Ecology, & Behavior2019
Tao XieComputer Science2019
Narayana AluruMechanical Science & Engineering2018
William GroppComputer Science2018
Andrew LeakeyPlant Biology2018
Ray MingPlant Biology2018
Jianjun ChengMaterials Science & Engineering2016
Brian Cunningham*Electrical & Computer Engineering2016
Kevin PittsPhysics2016
Bruce RhoadsGeography & Geographic Information Science2016
Chad RienstraChemistry2016
Josep TorrellasComputer Science2016
Evan DeLuciaPlant Biology2015
Placid FerreiraMechanical Science & Engineering2014
Stephen Boppart*Electrical & Computer Engineering2013
Chi-Hing Cheng-De Vries*Integrative Biology2012
Kent ChoquetteElectrical & Computer Engineering2012
Neal CohenPsychology2012
Paul FischerComputer Science2012
Rashid BashirBioengineering2011
Debasish DuttaMechanical Science & Engineering2011
Wilfred van der DonkChemistry2011
James WhitfieldEntomology2011
Gary DellPsychology2009
Andrew GewirthChemistry2009
Huimin ZhaoChemical & Biomolecular Engineering2009
Jeffrey BrawnNatural Resources & Environmental Sciences2008
James Eden*Electrical & Computer Engineering2008
Phyllis WiseMolecular & Cellular Biology2008
John GerltBiochemistry2007
Gregory GirolamiChemistry2007
Scott SilvermanChemistry2007
Stewart BerlocherEntomology2006
Sydney CameronIntegrative Biology2006
David ClaytonCell & Developmental Biology2005
Dana DlottChemistry2005
Paul KelterChemistry2005
Ilesanmi Adesida^Electrical & Computer Engineering2003
Craig BethkeGeology2003
Keh-Yung ChengElectrical & Computer Engineering2003
Nick HolonyakElectrical & Computer Engineering2003
Jeffrey MooreChemistry2003
Robert GennisBiochemistry2000
Robert FossumMathematics1999
Cleora D’ArcyCrop Sciences1997
Paul GoldPsychology1997
Sung-Mo KangElectrical & Computer Engineering1997
Narendra AhujaElectrical & Computer Engineering1996
William BrewerPsychology1996
Chester GardnerElectrical & Computer Engineering1996
Richard AlkireChemical & Biomolecular Engineering1995
Martha GilletteCell & Developmental Biology1995
Albert FengMolecular & Cellular Biology1993
Karl HessElectrical & Computer Engineering1993
Stephen Sligar*Biochemistry1993
Richard BurkhardtHistory1992
Thom DunningChemistry1992
George BatzliAnimal Biology1991
May BerenbaumEntomology1991
Antony CroftsMolecular & Cellular Biology1991
Scott DenmarkChemistry1991
John DudleyCrop Sciences1991
Donald HoltCrop Sciences1990
Stanley FriedmanEntomology1988
Gordon BaymPhysics1985
Dennis BuetowIntegrative Biology1985
Edwin GoldwasserPhysics1985
Ralph Simmons*Physics1985
Arthur DevriesMolecular & Cellular Biology1984
Peter BeakChemistry1983
Fred DelcomynMolecular & Cellular Biology1983
Hans FrauenfelderPhysics1981
Eugene GilesAnthropology1969
Edward ConradBiochemistry1966
Paul LauterburChemistry1966