American Academy of Arts & Sciences Member

The Academy membership encompasses over 4,600 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members and reflects the full range of disciplines and professions: mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs, and the arts. Among the Academy’s Fellows are more than 250 Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Application/Nomination information: Nominations are restricted to members.
Agency deadline: Provided to nominators.
Additional information: American Academy website

Illinois Recipients

^emeritus/retired faculty

Recipient DepartmentAward Year
Sarita AdveComputer Science2020
Renee BaillargeonPsychology2007
Gordon BaymPhysics1981
Peter BeakChemistry2004
Arnold Beckman*Chemistry1976
May BerenbaumEntomology1996
Kathryn BockPsychology2015
John Carbon*Chemistry1986
David CeperleyPhysics1999
Gary DellPsychology2015
Scott DenmarkChemistry2017
Edward DienerPsychology2012
James EconomyMaterials Science & Engineering2003
Eduardo FradkinPhysics2009
Hans FrauenfelderPhysics1979
Lambert FreundMaterials Science & Engineering1993
Nigel GoldenfeldPhysics2010
Laura GreenePhysics1997
Martin GruebeleChemistry2010
Sharon Hammes-SchifferChemistry2012
Richard HermanEducation Policy, Organization & Leadership2008
Karl HessElectrical & Computer Engineering1997
Nick Holonyak, Jr.+*Electrical & Computer Engineering1984
Frederick HoxieHistory2013
Stanley IkenberryEducation Policy, Organization & Leadership2000
Jiri JonasChemistry1987
Robert JonesOffice of the Chancellor; Crop Sciences2019
Benita KatzenellenbogenMolecular and Integrative Physiology1993
John KatzenellenbogenChemistry1992
Susan KiefferGeology1988
Miles KleinPhysics1997
Frederick LambPhysics2005
Anthony LeggettPhysics1996
Jeffrey MooreChemistry2008
Catherine MurphyChemistry2019
Bruno NettlMusic1997
Ralph NuzzoChemistry2005
Terrance O'ConnorDance2014
Henry Petroski*Engineering2003
Philip PhillipsPhysics2020
David PinesPhysics1980
Richard PowersEnglish1998
Gene RobinsonInstitute for Genomic Biology2004
John RogersMaterials Science & Engineering2014
Charles SlichterPhysics1969
Jack StillingerEnglish1993
Wilfred van der DonkChemistry2014
Dale Van HarlingenPhysics1999
Phyllis WiseMolecular and Integrative Physiology2013
Ralph WolfeMicrobiology1981
Andrew Yao*Mathematics2000