MacArthur Fellowship

The MacArthur Fellows Program awards unrestricted fellowships to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction. Recipients may be writers, scientists, artists, social scientists, humanists, teachers, entrepreneurs, or those in other fields, with or without institutional affiliations. They may use their fellowship to advance their expertise, engage in bold new work, or, if they wish, to change fields or alter the direction of their careers.

Award/Prize amount: $625,000
Application/Nomination information: Nominations are by invitation only.
Agency deadline: Made available to nominators.
Internal/Campus deadline: N/A
Illinois campus contact: N/A
Additional information: MacArthur website

Illinois Recipients

Recipient DepartmentAward Year
Bruce Blair*1999
Tami BondEngineer2014
Mari Jo Buhle*1991
Sidney Drell*Physicist and Arms Policy Analyst1984
Kevin Eggan*
Developmental Biologist2006
Jeanne Gang*2011
Mark Hersam*2014
Susan Kieffer^Geologist and Planetary Scientist1995
Albert Libchaber*1986
Norman Pace*2001
Richard Powers^Novelist1989
John RogersEngineer2009
Juan Salgado*Urban Planner2015
Richard Turco*1986
Gary Urton*Anthropologist2000
Eddie Williams*1988
Stephen WolframComputer Scientist and Physicist1981
I. Garth Youngberg*1988
Rebecca SandefurSociology2018