Guggenheim Fellowship

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation offers Fellowships to further the development of scholars and artists by assisting them to engage in research in any field of knowledge and creation in any of the arts, under the freest possible conditions and irrespective of race, color, or creed. Often characterized as “midcareer” awards, Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for individuals who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Fellowships are awarded through two annual competitions: one open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada, and the other open to citizens and permanent residents of Latin America and the Caribbean. Candidates must apply to the Guggenheim Foundation in order to be considered in either of these competitions.

Award/Prize amount: varies
Application/Nomination information: Applications accepted. See website for more information.
Agency deadline: September
Internal/Campus deadline: N/A
Illinois campus contact:
Additional information: Guggenheim website

Illinois Recipients

Recipient DepartmentAward Year
Renee BaillargeonPsychology1991
Dennis BaronEnglish and Linguistics2016
Asef BayatSociology2014
May BerenbaumEntomology1987
Antoinette BurtonHistory2010
Karin DahmenPhysics2016
Peter FritzscheHistory1999
George GollinPhysics2009
Alma GottliebAnthropology1998
Laura Greene^Physics2009
Joy HarjoEnglish2014
Anne HedemanArt History2011
Lillian Hoddeson^History2000
Sheldon JackobsonComputer Science2003
John KatzenellbogenChemistry1977
Diane KoenkerHistory2006
Schuyler KorbanNutritional Sciences2006
Craig KoslofskyHistory2016
Mei-Po KwanGeography2016
Ralph MathisenHistory2016
Harriet MuravSlavic Languages and Literatures2006
Tere O'ConnorDance1993
Philip PhillipsPhysics2015
Catherine PrendergastEnglish2014
Bruce RhoadsGeography2005
Gene RobinsonEntomology2003
Mark SteinbergHistory2007
Rebecca StumpfAnthropology2016
Kenneth SuslickChemistry2011
Wendy Tam ChoPolitical Science and Statistics2015
Stephen TaylorMusic2014
Dale Van HarlingenPhysics2001
Tandy WarnowComputer Science2011
Deke WeaverTheatre2014
Huimin ZhaoChemistry2012