American Council of Learned Societies

The American Council of Learned Societies continues to be the leading private institution supporting scholars in the humanities and related social sciences at the doctoral and postdoctoral levels. For the purpose of these competitions, the humanities and related social sciences include but are not limited to American studies; anthropology; archaeology; art history and architectural history; classics; economics; ethnic studies; film; gender studies; geography; history; languages and literatures; legal studies; linguistics; musicology; philosophy; political science; psychology; religious studies; rhetoric, communication, and media studies; sociology; and theater, dance, and performance studies.

Award/Prize amount: varies
Application/Nomination information: Applications accepted.
Agency deadline: varies
Internal/Campus deadline: N/A
Illinois campus contact:
Additional information: ACLS website

Illinois Recipients

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Eugene AvrutinHistory2012
James BrennanHistory2012
Clare Haru CrowstonHistory2012
Wail HassanComparative and World Literature2016
Kristin HogansonHistory2011
Lilya KaganovskySlavic Languages and Literatures2011
Eric McDuffieAfrican American Studies; History2017
Bruno NettlAnthropology; Music2012
Michael RothbergEnglish2011
D. Fairchild RugglesLandscape Architecture2013
Dan ShaoEast Asian Languages and Cultures2011
Michael SilversMusic2015
Carol SymesHistory2013
Emily E. LB. TwarogLabor and Employment Relations2019
Ted UnderwoodEnglish2013
Shelley WeinbergPhilosophy2012
Yasemin YildizGermanic Languages and Literatures2011