World Cultural Council

The World Cultural Council acknowledges individuals or institutions that have made outstanding achievements in science, education, and the arts by granting the Albert Einstein World Award of Science, the José Vasconcelos World Award of Education (given every two years), and the Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts (given every two years in alternate with World Award of Education) to eminent figures whose work has had a significantly positive impact on the cultural legacy of mankind.

Award/Prize amount: $10,000
Application/Nomination information: World Cultural Council awards are invited, campus-coordinated nominations. The Office of the Provost will submit up to two nominations, one for each award. Please review general information and other requirements prior to submitting a nomination. It may also be helpful to view information about previous recipients of the awards.

Use the online form to upload the following information (in one document) for the internal campus competition:

  • Award title (for 2019, either the Albert Einstein World Award of Science, or the Leonardo da Vinci World Award of Arts);
  • 1-2 page statement with the grounds for nominating the candidate and a list of his/her important achievements for the benefit of mankind; and
  • Short CV (3 page maximum).

Nomination package must be submitted by midnight October 5, 2018.

Agency deadline: November 28, 2018
Internal/Campus deadline: October 5, 2018
Illinois campus contact:
Additional information: WCC website