Queen Elizabeth Prize

The Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering is a global £1 million prize that celebrates a ground-breaking innovation in engineering. The prize rewards an individual or team of engineers whose work has had a major impact on humanity.

Award/Prize amount: $1,260,000
Application/Nomination information: There is no restriction on who may nominate. Self-nominations are not accepted.
Agency deadline: July 17, 2020
Internal/Campus deadline: N/A
Illinois campus contact: provostawards@illinois.edu
Additional information: Queen Elizabeth Prize Website

Illinois Recipients

^emeritus/retired faculty

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Marc Andreessen*Computer Science2013
Nick Holonyak, Jr.^*Electrical & Computer Engineering2021