Nobel Prize

The Nobel Prize is a set of annual international awards bestowed in the fields of literature, medicine, physics, chemistry, peace, and economics by Swedish and Norwegian institutions in recognition of academic, cultural, and/or scientific advances.

Award/Prize amount: $1,000,000
Application/Nomination information: With the exception of the Nobel Peace Prize, nominations for the Nobel Prize are by invitation only. There is no restriction on who may nominate for the Nobel Peace Prize.
Internal/Campus deadline: N/A
Illinois campus contact: January
Additional information: Nobel Prize Website Learn more about Illinois recipients on the Campus home page.

Illinois Recipients

*denotes alumni

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Philip AndersonPhysics1977
Edward Doisy*Physiology/Medicine1943
Robert Holley*Physiology/Medicine1968
Jack Kilby*Physics2000
Edwin Krebs*Physiology/Medicine1992
Paul Lauterbur*Physics1955
Anthony LeggettPhysics2003
Phillip Sharp*Physiology/Medicine1993
Hamilton Smith*Physiology/Medicine1978
Wendell Stanley*Chemistry1946
James Tobin*Economics1981
Rosalyn Yalow*Physiology/Medicine1977