National Medal of Technology and Inovation

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation (NMTI) is the nation’s highest honor for technological achievement, bestowed by the president of the United States on America’s leading innovators. The medal is awarded annually to individuals, teams (up to four individuals), companies or divisions of companies for their outstanding contributions to America’s economic, environmental and social well-being.

Award/Prize amount: N/A
Application/Nomination information: There is no restriction on who may nominate.
Agency deadline: April 3, 2020
Internal/Campus deadline: February 5, 2020
Illinois campus contact:
Additional information: USPTO Website

Illinois Recipients

^emeritus/retired faculty

Recipient DepartmentAward Year
Arnold Beckman*Chemistry1988
George Craford*Physics2002
Russell Dupuis*Materials Science and Engineering2002
Robert Fraley*Microbiology1998
Nick Holonyak, Jr.^*Engineering2002
Jack Kilby*Engineering1990