National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science is the Nation’s highest honor for scientists and engineers, and is presented annually by the President of the United States. It was established by the 86th Congress in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals “deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences.” In 1980 Congress expanded this recognition to include the social and behavioral sciences

Award/Prize amount: N/A
Application/Nomination information: There is no restriction on who may nominate. Self-nominations are not accepted. See website for more information.
Agency deadline: April
Internal/Campus deadline: February
Illinois campus contact:
Additional information: National Science Foundation Website

Illinois Recipients

*denotes alumni

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Philip Anderson*Physics1982
Arnold Beckman*Chemistry1989
May BerenbaumEntomology2014
Alfred Cho*Engineering1993
Philip Handler*Biochemistry1981
Nick Holonyak, Jr.^*Physics1990
Charles Keeling*Chemistry2001
Jack Kilby*Engineering1969
Carl Marvel*Chemistry1986
Allan Sandage*Astronomy1970
Philip Sharp*Biochemistry2004
John Sinfelt*Chemical Engineering1979
Charles Slichter^Physics2007
Sewall Wright*Genetics1966
Rosalyn Yalow*Medical Physics1988