Crafoord Prize

The Crafoord Prize in astronomy and mathematics, biosciences, geosciences or polyarthritis research is awarded by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences annually according to a rotating scheme. The prize sum of SEK 6 million makes the Crafoord one of the world´s largest scientific prizes.

Award/Prize amount: $700,000
Application/Nomination information: There is no restriction on who may nominate. Self-nominations are not accepted.
Agency deadline: January
Internal/Campus deadline: October
Illinois campus contact:
Additional information: Crafoord Prize Website

Illinois Recipients

*denotes alumni

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Allan Sandage*Astronomy1991
Carl WoeseBiosciences2003