Charles Stark Draper Prize

The Charles Stark Draper Prize for Engineering was established and endowed by Draper in 1988 in tribute to its founder, Dr. Charles Stark Draper, who pioneered inertial navigation. It is intended to honor those who have contributed to the advancement of engineering and to improve public understanding of the importance of engineering and technology. Administered by the National Academy of Engineering, the international prize is the engineering profession’s highest honor, and it is given for engineering achievements and their reduction to practice in ways that have significantly impacted society by improving the quality of life, providing the ability to live freely and comfortably, and/or permitting access to information.

Award/Prize amount: $500,000
Application/Nomination information: There is no restriction on who may nominate.
Agency deadline: April
Internal/Campus deadline: N/A
Illinois campus contact:
Additional information: NAE website

Illinois Recipients

^emeritus/retired faculty

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
George Craford*Electrical & Computer Engineering2015
Russell Dupuis*Electrical & Computer Engineering2015
Nick Holonyak, Jr.^*Electrical & Computer Engineering2015