Benjamin Franklin Medal

From its inception, The Franklin Institute has used awards and prizes to recognize and promote excellence in science, technology, and industry. The endowed Benjamin Franklin Medals are given annually in the following seven disciplines of science: Chemistry, Civil and Mechanical Engineering, Computer and Cognitive Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Electrical Engineering, Life Science and Physics.

Award/Prize amount: N/A
Application/Nomination information: There is no restriction on who may nominate. Self-nominations are accepted.
Agency deadline: Open
Internal/Campus deadline: N/A
Illinois campus contact:
Additional information: Franklin Institute Website 

Illinois Recipients

^emeritus/retired faculty

RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Nick Holonyak, Jr.^*Electrical & Computer Engineering2017