Academy Award (Oscar)

The Academy Awards, or “Oscars”, is an annual American awards ceremony hosted by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) to recognize excellence in cinematic achievements in the United States film industry as assessed by the Academy’s voting membership. The various category winners are awarded a copy of a statuette, officially called the Academy Award of Merit, which has become commonly known by its nickname “Oscar.”

Award/Prize amount: N/A
Application/Nomination information: Nominations are restricted to members.
Internal/Campus deadline: December
Illinois campus contact: N/A
Additional information: Oscars Website

Illinois Recipients

^emeritus/retired faculty

Recipient DepartmentAward Year
Patrick Jeffries*Cinematography2008
Chris Landreth*Animation2004
Ang Lee*Cinematography1996, 2001, 2006, 2013
Steve Sullivan*Animation2001, 2006