Excellence in Undergraduate Advising


A well-crafted nomination for this award would clearly address sustained excellence and innovation in undergraduate advising. Up to two recipients will be selected to receive this award: one faculty member: tenure-system or specialized, and one professional academic advisor. The award consists of an honorarium and a personalized commemorative plaque.



  • Tenure-system or specialized, with a non-primary advising role who have served as an academic advisor at the undergraduate level on the Urbana-Champaign campus for at least 5 years as of the first day of the current academic year.
  • Has not won this award in the previous 10 years

Professional Advisors:

  • Served as an academic advisor at the undergraduate level on the Urbana-Champaign campus for at least 5 years as of the first day of the current academic year.
  • Has not won this award in the previous 10 years

Graduate Assistant advisors are not eligible for this award.

Evaluation Criteria

  • Sustained excellence in undergraduate advising;
  • Positive impact on undergraduate students and their intellectual development through sustained academic advising relationships;
  • Innovative approaches to undergraduate advising;
  • Demonstrated commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion; and,
  • Other contributions to improve undergraduate advising (e.g., engaging students in innovative advising activities; developing student advising materials; leading workshops on student advising; impacting other student advisers; or impacting departmental or college advising methods; etc.)


A nomination may be submitted by students, faculty members, administrators, or alumni, and should be submitted to a departmental selection committee.

Individuals who have been nominated during a particular year should not serve on the departmental selection committee during that same year.

Nomination packets must include all materials described below. Please follow this outline when submitting a nomination:

  • The standard cover page (Attachment A) with the appropriate signatures.
  • A nomination letter addressing each of the Evaluation Criteria described above. The nomination letter should indicate why the nominee is exceptional as an excellent advisor of undergraduate students. (Not to exceed 3 pages.)
  • A philosophy statement provided by the nominee. This statement should include a discussion of the challenges, methods, and goals of undergraduate advising including a well-articulated commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion through their advising. (Not to exceed 2 pages.)
  • Two letters of support* from students, preferably one from a student currently enrolled at Illinois and one from an alumnus. (See Attachment C for a sample solicitation letter.) (Not to exceed 2 pages each.)

*Letters from students should be solicited by the departmental selection committee, not the nominee. The nominee may be asked to suggest names.


Previous Recipients
Award RecipientDepartmentAward Year
Stephanie Ott-MonsivaisMechanical Science & Engineering2023
Justine KarduckFood Science & Human Nutrition2023
Paul DavidsonAgricultural & Biological Engineering2022
Amy O’NeillKinesiology & Community Health2022
Merissa MiltonPhysics2021
Barbara AndersonHuman Development Family Studies2021
Neil BaerCommunication2020
Becky MelineNuclear, Plasma, & Radiological Engineering2020
Melissa BiehlMechanical Science & Engeineering2019
Kathi RittenSpeech & Hearing Science2019
Laura GerholdAerospace Engineering2018
Pamela GreerLiberal Arts & Sciences2018
Cassie MeinertKinesiology & Community Health2017
Alicia RodriguezLatina/Latino Studies2017
Stephen HerzogComputer Science2016
Sascha HilgenfeldtMechanical Science & Engineering2016
Carol FirkinsCommunity Health2015
Richard GorvettMathematics2015
Walter HurleyAnimal Sciences2014
Tonya SwinkSchool of Integrative Biology2014
Emad JassimMechanical Science & Engineering2013
David MillerAnimal Sciences2013


For more information about Campus Awards for Excellence in Instruction, contact the Office of the Provost at tab-awards@illinois.edu or 217-333-6677.