Program Review Council

The Council includes 5-8 members with a Chair. The Council members are senior faculty members, including some with administrative experience and a broad understanding of the campus, as well as administrators, who also have a broad understanding of the campus. Provost’s Office staff serve as ex officio members. The Council members are nominated by the Colleges and the Senate; the Provost’s Office makes the appointments, and members are asked to serve a three year revolving term. Replacements to the board will be staggered to allow for consistency.

The Review Council has the following responsibilities:

  • Examine the annual reports submitted by the colleges
  • Set the calendar for the unit reviews
  • Give feedback on external  reviewers
  • Identify potential areas of focus for the reviews
  • Review the final report from the unit
  • Review progress towards the recommendations resulting from the review
  • Identify potential modifications to the review process

Council Members 2017-2018

  • Shelly Nickols (Chair), Department of Food Science and Nutrition (2016-present)
  • Sarita Adve, Department of Computer Science (2015-present)
  • Jim Dalling, Department of Plant Science (2016-present)
  • Rochelle Gutierrez, Department of Curriculum and Instruction (2016-present)
  • Alan Mette, School of Art and Design (2016-present)
  • Silvina Montrul, Department of Spanish and Portuguese (2016-present)
  • George Pennacchi, Department of Finance (2013-present)
  • Kim Shinew, Department of Recreation, Sport and Tourism (2016-present)
  • Patrick Vargas, Department of Advertising (2017-present)
  • Pamela Wilkins, Veterinary Clinical Medicine (2014-present)

Past Members

  • Scott Althaus (Chair), Department of Political Science (2014-2017)
  • Janet Barrett, School of Music (2013-2016)
  • Paul Ellinger, Department of Agriculture and Consumer Economics (2014-2016)
  • Poshek Fu, Department of History (2013)
  • Hong Li, School of Social Work (2014-2017)
  • Edward McAuley, Department of Kinesiology & Community Health (2014-2016)
  • Elvira De Mejia, Department of Food Science & Human Nutrition (2013-2015)
  • Jeff Moore (Chair), Department of Chemistry (2013-2016)
  • Nancy Sottos, Department of Materials Science & Engineering (2013-2015)
  • William Trent, Department of Education Policy and Organizational Leadership (2013-2016)
  • Mara Wade, Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures (2014-2016)
  • Jeff Woods, Department of Kinesiology & Community Health (2013-2014)