Provost's Staff

Ilesanmi Adesida photo

Ilesanmi Adesida
Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost

217 Swanlund Administration Building
601 E. John Street
Champaign, IL  61820
Phone: (217) 244-4545
Fax: (217) 244-5639

Deb Kincaid, (217) 244-4545

Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost Ilesanmi Adesida is the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s chief academic officer. He oversees the campus’ academic programs, policies and priorities, which have been designed to ensure the quality of the educational experience for students and to sustain an environment that encourages and supports academic excellence.

As the chief academic officer, Provost Adesida works closely with the Chancellor, the other vice chancellors, the deans of academic colleges and other units, academic staff, the Faculty Senate, and various committees in setting overall academic priorities for the campus.

In June 2005, Ilesanmi Adesida became the 13th dean since the inception of the College of Engineering in 1870. He originally joined the Illinois faculty in 1987, and he is currently the Donald Biggar Willett Professor of Engineering, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering. He has previously served as the Director of the Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory and the Associate Director for Education of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Compound Semiconductor Microelectronics.

Provost Adesida's research interests include nanofabrication processes and ultra-high-speed optoelectronics. He has extensive experience in development of novel processes for wide bandgap materials such as silicon carbide and gallium nitride. He has also worked on ultra-high-speed photodetectors and photoreceivers in various materials systems. Provost Adesida has chaired many international conferences, including serving as the Program and General Chair of the Electronic Materials Conference, 2000-2003. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Vacuum Society (AVS) and Optical Society of America. He is past-president of IEEE Electron Devices Society, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

He received his BS, MS, and PhD degrees in electrical engineering from the University of California, Berkeley. From 1979-84, he worked in various capacities at what is now known as the Cornell Nanofabrication Facility and the School of Electrical Engineering, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY. He was the head of the Electrical Engineering Department at Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi, Nigeria, from 1985-87.